Law Offices of

Patrick F. Lauer, Jr. LLC

Pennsylvania Criminal Defense

Don’t Wait- 24/7 Live Assistance and Representation. Call
Us Before You Talk to the Police.

Spanish • Russian

Have You Been Charged with a DUI?

Have You Been Charged with Another Type of Crime?

Law Offices of

Patrick F. Lauer, Jr. LLC

Pennsylvania Criminal Defense

[et_pb_stop_stacking _builder_version=”3.17.6″][/et_pb_stop_stacking]
PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us via telephone or video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.

Have You Been Charged with a DUI?

Have You Been Charged with Another Type of Crime?

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. DUI
  4.  » What are the 3 levels of DUI in Pennsylvania?

When you drink alcohol and drive a vehicle, you could get arrested for driving under the influence. If convicted, you could face jail time, fines, loss of driving privileges and other consequences for this charge.

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania made it illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content level at or above 0.08% (instead of 0.10%) in 2003. There are also three levels of DUI that impact the penalties you face if convicted.

1. General impairment

You are generally impaired if your BAC level is between 0.08% to 0.099% at the time of the DUI arrest. This crime is an ungraded offense for your first and second convictions, but after two or more offenses, a DUI under the general impairment category becomes a second-degree misdemeanor. The most severe penalties for driving with a BAC level in the General Impairment category include 12 months of license suspension, between five days and six months of jail time and a $500 to $5,000 fine.

2. High BAC

You can get arrested for having a High BAC if your BAC level is between 0.10% to 0.159% at the time of the arrest. If you have three or more prior DUI offenses that fall into this category, you could be subject to 18 months of license suspension, up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

3. Highest BAC

If you drive with a BAC level of 0.16% or higher, you are subject to the penalties for a Highest BAC. If you commit this crime two or more times, you are also face 18 months of license suspension, up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.