Pennsylvania, like all other states, has several penalties in place for drivers who violate drunk-driving laws. The purpose of the laws is to protect the public from drunk drivers. The aim is to reduce alcohol-related injuries and deaths on the roadways.
So what is a drunk driver? According to the Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles, you are driving under the influence when your blood alcohol concentration is at least .08%. DUI penalties vary based on the number of offenses you have. If you are a first-time offender, you get up to six months’ probation and a $300 fine. Plus, you must attend Alcohol Highway Safety School and undergo treatment when ordered. As a two-time offender, you face five days to six months of jail time along with mandatory AHSS attendance, court-ordered treatment if necessary, a $300 to $2,500 fine and driver’s license suspension for 12 months. A third offense results in serving 10 days to two years in jail, a fine between $500 and $5,000 and a 12-month license suspension. If court-ordered, you must get treatment.
DUI offenders must have an ignition interlock device under certain conditions. For instance, it is a mandatory penalty if you have two or more offenses. However, first-time offenders who refuse a chemical test must get an IDD. Pennsylvania has an implied consent law. This means every driver agrees to a breath, urine or blood test if a law enforcement official suspects they are driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol. If you refuse the test, it may result in harsher DUI penalties.
Do not take this content as legal advice. It is for educational purposes only.